10,000 Maniacs

10,000 Maniacs To Release An Album Of British Folk Songs

It has been announced that 10,000 Maniacs are going in a different direction for their ninth studio album and their first with Cleopatra Records.

Twice Told Tales, set for an April release, is a full-length collection of traditional British Isles folk songs that will be given the 10,000 Maniacs touch.   In another interesting departure for the band the album is being crowd funded

This new project digs deep into the historical roots of not just the Maniacs’ own sound but Western music generally, and finds the band at the very top of their musical, melodic game.

The current members of 10,000 Maniacs include founding group members Dennis Drew (keyboards), Steve Gustafson (bass) and John Lombardo (guitar), Jerry Augustyniak (drums) who joined during the band’s third year, Mary Ramsey (vocals), who replaced Natalie Merchant in 1993, and Jeff Erickson (guitar) who joined in 2001. Lombardo has returned to the group for the new album after having quit in 2002.

Twice Told Tales promises to be a fascinating look at the UK Folk scene with classics like ‘She Moved Through The Fair’, ‘Carrickfergus’ and Marie’s wedding included on the 15 Track album.

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , on by .

About The Sound of Summer

Hi, I am Alan. I live in Broadstone, Dorset with my wife, Shirley, my son, Ryan and two dogs called Bailey and Jasper. I have recently retired after working in the Armed Forces and in Public Service since 1977 so I now have a bit more time to do the things I love. Music is a huge part of my life and always has been. I have a broad taste in music and can find something to enjoy in most styles of music. I have always been attracted to music which has something to say, is outside the mainstream and is perhaps a bit rebellious. I guess my early influences were late 1970's Punk and new wave bands, especially those who came out of Northern Ireland where I grew up. I loved Stiff Little Fingers, The Undertones, Rudi, Starjets etc but also bands like The Ramones, The Clash, The Jam and so on. I like singer songwriters including Van Morrison, Springsteen, Neil Young & Bob Dylan and in recent years I have become more interested in folk and acoustic music but I also love the sort of high drive energetic Folk/Punk music delivered by bands like The Levellers, Leatherat, Ferocious Dog and many others who frequent the UK Festival scene. I have long since lost the desire to spend my holidays laying around in the sun and these days am much more likely to be found in a muddy field somewhere in the UK during the festival season.

Sing out here if you want to be heard!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s